La Ballona Is Chosen

Kristi AvilaNewsLeave a Comment

La Ballona Elementary of Culver City is among five elementary schools chosen by the Center Theatre Group to participate in the inaugural Disney Musicals in Schools program.

La Ballona is the only non-LAUSD school.

The selected schools begin a 17-week musical theatre residency in January.

Each campus will receive performance rights, education support materials and guidance from two teaching artists.

The program features a professional development focus through which participating school teachers partner with Center Theatre Group teaching artists.

They will learn how to produce, direct, choreograph and music direct, culminating in their first 30- to 45-minute Disney KIDS musical at their school.

As a capstone to the experience, Center Theatre Group will host a Student Share Celebration in which each school performs one number from their show for an audience of students, teachers, family and community members.

The Student Share Celebration will take place at the Ahmanson Theatre on May 21.

The initiative was developed by Disney Theatrical Productions to create sustainable theatre programs in under-resourced elementary schools.

Besides La Ballona, the other schools are Harrison Elementary, Hope Street Elementary, Humphreys Avenue Elementary, and Ritter Elementary.

La Ballona Principal Jennifer Slabbinck said the Disney program at “gives us an opportunity to train our teachers to take the lead and to more regularly bring arts instruction into their own classrooms.”


Ms. Avila, with the Center Theatre Group, may be contacted at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA: Please Answer Question Below: *